On Top of the World

Well behaved women rarely make history.

Building a Mystery

Do you know this girl? She was in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince for about two minutes. She’s a barista at a train stop coffee shop and she flirts with Harry. She’s not in the book, she’s a muggle and thanks to Dumbledore, and Ginny, I suppose, the likelihood she’ll ever see Harry again is very low. But I came out of that movie thinking about her.

It’s not that I dislike the movie or the main characters. I just adore little minor characters. I like fleshing them out, giving them life, turning them into something less minor, something more real — and, in a way, something mine. I do it for my beloved major characters, too, but there’s just something about the minor ones.

Here’s what we know about Miranda Greene:
+She was 30 years old
+She lived in Providence
+She was an attorney and specialized in toxic tort litigation
+She was unmarried and “fairly private”
+She was pretty/people considered her pretty
+She was a part of the Cortexiphan experiments in Jacksonville
+She’s dead

Now, seeing as Miranda was in last week’s Fringe for that same about two minutes and then died, you may wonder why I’d spend any time on her. But a) she’s played by Diane Kruger and b) it’s Fringe, there is a whole extra universe(s?) where she could still be alive! So here’s what I know about Miranda Greene.

O brave new world, that has such people in’t.

Miranda is a name made up by Shakespeare for his play The Tempest. It is, I think, my favourite of Shakespeare’s plays, and Miranda is my role. When I was a senior in high school we read it aloud in AP English and I would not allow anyone else to read a single line of Miranda’s. I mean that how it sounds, my teacher was afraid to select someone else and he started calling me Miranda in the hallways. I imagine he may think it is my name (names are very important to me, I think about them a lot, but they are also somewhat fluid to me, and I answer to many).

Miranda means admirable or beautiful. It’s a common trait of Diane Kruger’s characters — from Troy‘s Helen aka “the most beautiful woman in the world” to National Treasure‘s Abigail, who finds it possibly annoying rather than particularly curious that she gets a random gift, to Inglourious Basterds‘s renowned and beloved movie star. But if the audience is not sure Diane Kruger’s Miranda was admirable and beautiful, the dialogue tells us. She is honestly concerned about Neil Wilson, her coworker clearly admires her, the coffee shop guy calls her pretty. Miranda also brings to mind the Miranda Warning, the reading of rights to criminals. Which only reinforces the idea that Miranda Greene was a champion of justice. Much like say, Agent Dunham.

You know what’s another Shakespearean name? Olivia.

She had a real thing about protecting those who couldn’t protect themselves.

What a beautiful line (said by Ken Messing, the co-worker, about Miranda). It says so much so simply, because see, later on Sam says to Olivia: It’s because it’s more than a job to you. You’re a soldier. Protector. I don’t imagine that is an accident. We are meant to draw lines of comparison between Olivia and Miranda — and then Lloyd Becker, who was in fact a soldier. The Cortexiphan children are a unit of some kind (imagine if they ARE a unit ‘over there’, for whatever reason I continue to picture the AU as more organized or militarized…must be the zeppelins…but I digress).

And look how similar Miranda is to Olivia — admired but private, determined but underestimated, pretty but lonely. A crusader. A protector.

I’ve given Miranda a theme song. The Call, by Regina Spektor. It was written for the second Narnia movie, Prince Caspian, but my iphone shuffled it while I was thinking on all this and I found it incredibly apt.

It started out as a feeling
Which then grew into hope
Which then turned into a quiet thought
Which then turned into a quiet word
And then that word grew louder and louder
Til it was a battle cry

As the Nina and Broyles exchange made clear, the Cortexiphan children are significant, and potentially dangerous. They’re not all dead and while Miranda is, her death was important enough to Observe, so I don’t think it is so odd I find her life important enough to ponder.

Greene, by the way, is clearly a reference to Clue, and as I recall the film Mr. Green is the only one to not be a murderer in any ending and is in fact secretly an agent with the FBI. Thus, by association, Miranda Greene is a member of the #HotFBIPosse. You never know!

2 Comments»

  Ping-back Alert « On Top of the World wrote @

[…] Miranda Greene has a […]

[…] as I’ve mentioned before in this Fringe-related post, I also love these little minor characters. In the comic we are given the […]


Leave a Reply

