On Top of the World

Well behaved women rarely make history.

Or fall to keep on going.

It’s been a rough couple of weeks. To cheer me up some, Sigrid sent me the playlist she’s been listening to. It’s made up of songs various people had mentioned on Twitter (two of them by me). I subtracted one, added three others and slapped this picture on (channeling my Inner Hermione has been what’s kept me sane lately).

Raise Your Glass – Pink
Radio Nowhere – Bruce Springsteen
Stuttering – Fefe Dobson
You Ain’t Woman Enough (To Take My Man) – Paramore
Rush – Aly & A.J.
Get Some – Lykke Li
The Desperate Things You Made Me Do – Magnetic Fields
How – Cranberries
Save Yourself – Stabbing Westward
Bulletproof Heart – My Chemical Romance
Genevieve – Girlyman
Roads – Portishead
DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love – Usher
Singing In the Rain/Umbrella – Glee Cast
Mona Lisa (When the World Comes Down) – All American Rejects

The amazing thing is that this is a playlist put together without theme or specific purpose and yet it has both. AND my random art with random quote fits it perfectly. The music is speaking of and for a distressed damsel — she is absolutely beyond her breaking point. She is exhausted of it all and tired of trying, tired of fighting, tired of wanting, tired of feeling. Tired of everything. And she’s angry, so angry, but it’s useless to her. Everyone and everything has disappointed her but what else is there? It is what it is.

So what does she do? She tries, she fights, she wants, she feels. She stays angry. But she also forgives. And she clings. And she dances like no one is watching.

The most consistent criticism I’ve heard about the new HP movie (and its source material) is that nothing happens. But I think why I like it and why I like this playlist is that that’s life! Life is a succession of annoying tasks you just have to DO. Life is continuous tension and never getting anywhere and hating your friends as much as you love them. And some days you hide and some days you fight and some days you scream and some days you dance.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

